Jack (or Jill) of All Trades

Aisiku Ose Andrea
6 min readJan 26, 2024

--

Photo by Erik Mclean on Unsplash

We know the saying, Jack of all trades, master of none. But only a few know that there is a second part to this seemingly condescending quote. The complete thing which reads —

Jack of all trades, master of none

But often better than a master of one.

— is used to refer to a multiskilled person. When used alone, the first part is mostly derogatory — a way to jeer at the person for being a know-it-all-but-know-so-little. On the other hand, the complete quote offers consolation — Yeah, there’s hope for you.

Photo by Jessica Pamp on Unsplash

History has it that this saying was first used to describe the great William Shakespeare. It is said that Williams loved to learn all the roles on play sets so he could step in whenever needed. Today, William ‘Jack’ Shakespeare needs no introduction. The original Jack Of All Trades (JOAT?) went on to become one of the greatest immortalized playwrights of all time.

This quote came to mind while thinking about what I would like to do with my life. At the time, I had just attended a coaching class where the speaker declared, “Specialization is not the way to go.” If I am being honest, I was a hairbreadth away from leaving that class more confused than before attending the class. Why? Because he ended his talk by encouraging us to pick a niche. I wondered, So which is it? To specialize or to generalize?

Photo by Robert Anasch on Unsplash

While I do not remember if I was the one who asked for clarification, I do remember that he went on to explain that while you are just starting out, it is best to focus on transferable skills. Skills that guarantee that wherever the wind blows, you have steady feet to land on. Then, when you are confident that you have garnered enough skills, pick a niche and blossom.

It made sense.

But if we’re being honest, life does not give you time to keep bouncing from one place to another. Social media will not even let you breathe while you’re focusing on transferrable skills, especially if those skills are not transferring cash into your bank accounts.

So, there I was contemplating: you do know a lot about a lot of things (except programming — of course!), but what are you truly good at? You have a lot of hats, but which hat truly matches the life you envision? What is this life that you envision?

Photo by Carli Jeen on Unsplash

Even now that I seem to have gained clarity on the career path I wish to tread, I often find myself bustling with restless energy. I wonder, are there other career paths within this career path? Worthy detours? Somehow, I have seduced myself into thinking, Why be one when you can be more? This train of thought was birthed after that fateful coaching session.

Following my restless nature and dislike of being bound to one thing or a strict routine, I set out on a seemingly futile endeavor of seeking the perfect job. One that satisfies my desire to be impactful while having fun, being productive, and earning in containers (pronounced as kon-teh-nas).

I believe this restlessness/desire for perfection/desire for the ultimate thing is what drives most Jacks (or Jills). And if we are being honest, there are perks to knowing a lot of trades:

  1. A Jack will rarely be stranded. In an icky situation, they will find the right hat to don and pull themselves or loved ones out. Given that they know a little about everything, they will always have an idea of how something should go. No matter how bizarre it may appear.
  2. A Jack never gets bored. Those transferrable skills come in handy if they decide to change jobs or switch careers. Their mind is always running, thinking about how to do this or that. Plus, they can be their very own entertainers- the very best.
  3. A Jack always sees more room for improvement. He is more open to new things, tactics, recipes, and everything, mostly for selfish reasons. A new thing is just another way to ensure they satisfy their addiction/craving for extra knowledge, for more — bright and shiny.

But everything that has an advantage has a disadvantage, which is why:

  1. A Jack is least likely to become an expert in anything. Unless they ultimately set their minds to it. They spend their time, energy, and resources looking for or studying the next best/exciting thing. Leaving no time to perfect or master the old. Their growth is rarely vertical, instead it is horizontal, spreading from coast to coast. This almost always makes it challenging to advance rapidly in a career path.
  2. A Jack is more likely to become overwhelmed. Knowledge overload? It’s very possible. When you have a lot of options, it isn’t easy to settle for one. Especially when every other option is just as promising, and you know deep within that with the right focus, you will excel at every one of them.
  3. A Jack has a short attention span. There is so much to know in the world. So why would you tie yourself to one thing, especially after you have mastered the basics and the excitement has died? It’s similar to being an adrenaline junkie. You are least likely to go on a daredevil activity again if you have completely mastered how to survive. Your attention is automatically drawn to the next appealing thing.
Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Considering these pros and cons, it becomes easy to understand the coach. A Jack or Jill can take time to sow their supposed/restless wild oats, but they must groom discipline strong enough to know when to call it quits and stick to one path.

When you think about it, a Jack of all trades is a philanderer, a career/excitement whore. (I would never call myself that, though). Why have one when you can have more? Why be one when you can be more? Tell me that does not sound like a whore’s mantra?!

Photo by Zdeněk Macháček on Unsplash

But respectable people like us would never call ourselves that now, would we? I know I would not! But here’s a question to reflect on. Knowing the full gravity of remaining a JOAT, would you instead remain a master of none or become a master of one?

Hey! If you like reading this, hit the clap button until it reaches 50+. If you are a JOAT like me, tap on the comment button and tell me the downsides and upsides you’ve noticed. Share with other JOATs you know. And non-JOATs, too. Maybe we can get them on our side. [insert sly wink].

--

--

Aisiku Ose Andrea

If I wrote down all my stories and conversations with myself, I would be legendary. Instead, I think more than I read and read more than I write.